HomeWindows AssistanceTools & SettingsRecover Previous Versions of a File

2.11. Recover Previous Versions of a File

The School of Business IT Group has deployed additional services that will assist you with self-file recovery from network shares. It is important to save your most valuable data to either your department's network share, Q:\ or your personal share P:\. Please visit this link for details What is P:\ and Q:\?  When a file is saved or modified on the file server a process running on the server tracks changes to prevent data loss. This tool can be used to recover data or restore previous versions. For information on how to recover a delete file please see Recover a Deleted File on Network

To recover a previous version of a file:

Please Note: The file to recover MUST have been saved on a network share as this type of recovery is not available on desktops. Desktop files are recovered through a different method for more information on this process please see Automatic Backup With Backblaze.

Click the Windows Start Orb .

Click Computer.

Browse to the Network Drive location of the file you would like to recover.

Right Click on the file to recover.

Select Properties.

Locate the version you are looking for and click the appropriate option either Copy or Restore. To Copy... the file and leave the current version on the server click Copy... This will allow you to save the file to a new location and change the file name. Or click Restore... to save the selected version over the existing file.

 

 

 

Copy will allow you to save the desired version of the document to any location and rename the file.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Restore will overwrite the existing file which should be done only if the file is corrupted or does not contain information.

 

 

 

This page was: Helpful | Not Helpful